Lusaka, Muturi in bid to end revenue bill stalemate


The Speakers of the bicameral Parliament have appointed an eight-member mediation committee to develop a consensus on the divergent positions adopted by the Houses on the revenue bill.

The Senate has picked Finance and Budget Committee chairman Mohamed Mahamud, Minority Whip Mutula Kilonzo Jr, Majority Whip Susan Kihika and Narok Senator Ledama ole Kina.

And National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi chose Majority Leader Aden Duale, Minority Leader John Mbadi, Budget and Appropriations Committee chairman Kimani Ichung’wa and Majority Deputy Whip Cecily Mbarire.

The National Assembly last week rejected the Senate’s amendments to the 2019 Division of Revenue Bill, setting the stage for a likely battle as the two sides try to protect their turf.

The version of the bill passed in the National Assembly allocated Sh310 billion to counties as equitable shareable revenue in line with Treasury proposals.

Source: Daily Nation

Leave a Reply


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here